Earthly perspective

‘When we originally went to the moon our total focus was on the moon,  we weren’t thinking about looking back at the earth…but now that we’ve done it that may well have been the most important reason went’. David Beaver

Perspective is a wonderful thing.

I have had two occasions of it this week, three if you count the metaphor I too willingly placed upon a pair of shoes to convince myself to buy them.

Actually. Let’s go with the shoes for a minute.

I made a decision thursday morning after having to yet again reach up on my tippy-toes to give someone a hug, that I was short and of an age that it was time to start wearing shoes with more of a heel on them…like all grown up women do right?

I went hunting twice but the only thing I could find that I liked was a pair of boots that was $300 more than I had to spend (keeping in mind I have zero that I can technically spend on anything right now).

I was in a shoe shop where a little girl was patiently waiting for her mother, sitting on the floor playing with toys. The shop assistant asked if I wanted some help and I explained now exasperated that I had wanted something in particular and of course was now having trouble finding it.

A voice came from the floor at this time. The little girl now below my feet exclaimed ‘what about these?’. She had pulled a pair of shoes from beside her, a position no shoe would wish to be on display as they would have buggeries chance of being seen …unless you were willing to change your perspective as this girl was now making me do, crouching down to talk to her.

Now, they weren’t a boot and they didn’t have much of a heel on them but they were the perfect Kate shoe. To think I’d almost missed out on perfection simply because I was all tunnel vision in my search?

Of course I appreciate that this is a somewhat lame, western world, commercial type metaphor to use (shoes can bring happiness and perspective?! Sure! Why not?!), but my acupuncturist, bless him, has been helping me find links in such ways to help me understand deeper eastern philosophies (the over expenditure of a credit card to illustrate to me my failing health a favorite), so why not run with the shoes to begin.

My other two gifts, the greater ones that have opened my eyes to the world this week, came from more simple things, from the earth and earthly delights… from ‘enjoyment in what you don’t expect’ someone said to me recently, the someone who brought the first gift of perspective. This particular someone in fact brought a perspective that comes only when you take a conscious breath …and wonder why and when you’d stopped breathing in the first place…

I must take a moment some time this week to thank this person for resuscitating me.

The other gift I was given must (and can) be shared. It certainly came as unexpectedly, the link arriving from a man I haven’t seen or heard from for over five years. But he was right to send it to me, right to send me, a woman so deeply awed by the natural world and so enamored by wonder that she often loses herself in a sea of words trying to communicate the experience back; right to send something short yet exquisite that brings tears of joy and understanding.

And when you watch this documentary as I hope you do, you will get the chance to taste a little of what the astronauts share through their experience, to see our planet from ‘up there’, from a different perspective …and perhaps realise as I did that everything we worry about or focus on seems tiny in comparison. That we are missing the bigger picture.

http://www.upworthy.com/some-strange-things-are-happening-to-astronauts-returning-to-earth

Wonder. Meant …that this week I will look up, out, under, in, through and close up. And I wont be looking for anything in particular. World, I’ll let you surprise me.

x Kate

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

