Efforts

The trial

I am trying not to

pour

myself

out

end up a puddle on the floor for people to slip on and exclaim

‘someone clean up this mess!’.

I am trying not to arrive

windswept &

weathered

to take the birds and the bird nest out of my hair and brush myself to the lady that comes to the world

whatever time of day

with

not

a

strand

out

of

place.

I am trying to do fancy

to take off the boots I have worn up the mountain a thousand times and

cross. my. legs.

to

nod

and say ‘oh yes one must’

and wear the kind of earrings that do not sway

do not flirt with the air

but just sit

poised

and obedient.

With gritted teeth I am trying to scrub myself to something picture perfect for somebodies and who’s-a-what’s-its and thems and theys and he’s and she’s.

I am trying

not.

 

 

When the earth starts to make demands

It means you havn’t been listening.

 

 

Post note

I’m disappearing into an envelope

so that I may post myself to a place where

no one knows me.

At the moment I am found by your hands

unfold me

gently.

Brush aside any dirt

press me to you if any rain has dampened me on my journey and

forgive any creases;

though I am damaged

I come to you

now

blank.

 

 

 

I didn’t have to go far.

I was always here.

 

 

Memory box(ed)

I will never attempt to paint this memory

in any other colors than what

you have given me tonight.

 

 

Her refusal to say his name

 

 

Hibernation is not an option

I am forced to taste this bitterness.

x Kate

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Efforts

  1. Ulla-Britta Westergren

    wow that was truly beautiful!! xoxox

Leave a Reply

