The Chaser

Again.

Let me have this time again.

Let me show you what I could do with it.

Let me show you that

in my quest for life

I can do more than simply profess my love for it

More than simply say

‘thank you’

every time it has given me something

(…as if I didn’t deserve it

…as if I hadn’t welcomed it),

more than do what is ‘right’

whatever I have supposed ‘right’ is.

No.

Next time

I will simply say

Yes

so that I may go somewhere I have never been before

And for that

need never return

need never ask

for this time

Again.

 

 

Affluent.

I’m affording myself a good life.

I’m affording myself rhythm and

movement

gardens without fences

and time to pause with sincerity and actually

smell

those

roses.

I’m affording my-self honesty, so that

in being honest with you

we might go a distance

We might bypass the bullshit and actually delight in knowing each other

Fully.

I’m affording myself work I would happily do for free,

food for my body

as much as the body of this planet

And I’m affording myself You

and

You

and

You

Because

I know

it wont be the money I made to afford me such things

that I’ll want more of when time is slowing;

I will only want what I readily gave my love and passion to

for free.

 

 

The Chaser

To follow up

I would like to add

this is a kind of mania

I know I can’t keep up.

I fear

not for drowning

but for choking as I guzzle

trying to

fit

more

in.

I wonder

for this reason

as I stare upon this chaser

and the man who sits across from me at the bar

eyes gleaming

wide

and

desperate

if this will be my last.

I wonder if what I want

is something I might have gotten somewhere else

with out gasping

and

grasping.

I suck in the air around me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

